Vladikavkaz, an amazingly beautiful city located in a picturesque place at the foot of the rocky mountains. It originates from the reign of Catherine II, when, according to her decree, a fortress was built between Russia and Georgia. The point was called Vladikavkaz — «Own the Caucasus.» The Ossetian name of this place is Dzaudzhikau — «settlement of Dzauga», named after the founder of the village, which appeared before the construction of the city of Dzaug Bulugov.
Vladikavkaz is not only mountains and Ossetian pies, it is beautiful landscapes, rich history, architectural monuments, favorable climate, tradition and culture of local residents. There are many mineral springs nearby. The capital of North Ossetia-Alania is a small, cozy, ancient town, from each window of which a chain of the Caucasus Mountains is visible. The modest beauty of Vladikavkaz will surely captivate all its guests.
Departure from Nalchik at 9:00 from city center.
Sunni Mosque in Vladikavkaz
Sunni mosque in Vladikavkaz is a visiting card of Vladikavkaz.
The red-blue building against the backdrop of mountain peaks attracts tourists with its oriental beauty. According to historians, the Muslim temple is a gift from a Baku oilman to his Ossetian wife. The best craftsmen took part in the construction. For two years, the mosque was painted with sacred symbols. Thanks to its beautiful stained-glass windows, walls painted with sayings from the Koran, ornaments, the mosque resembles a precious box. The Sunni mosque is a unique creation with a rich, exquisite interior decoration, a real symbol of the city and an architectural monument of federal significance.
The place where the mosque is located is luxurious. The tops of the mountains, the handsome river Terek, and the slender, sophisticated mosque — tourists are happy to take pictures of this breathtaking beauty.
In Soviet times, the mosque was almost demolished. But the building was recaptured and the historical monument managed to be preserved. For some time, a museum of nature was organized in it, but now prayer services have been resumed again. To date, the Sunni mosque is the only functioning Muslim temple in the city.
Memorial of Glory
Memorial of Gloryin Vladikavkaz — was opened on the 60th anniversary of the victory over Nazi Germany, in honor of the dead residents of North Ossetia-Alania. The main entrance to the Memorial opens with a triumphal arch with the inscription: «Glory to the heroes!». On the eastern side, a wall was build with an impressive panel with images of fragments of the Great Patriotic War. Also on the walls of the Memorial are listed the names of Ossetian fallen front-line soldiers. In the very center there is a column with a monument to St. George the Victorious, who is considered the patron saint of Ossetia, and an eternal flame is lit. The column is decorated with high reliefs depicting the exploits of the inhabitants.
Also on the territory there is a plate dedicated to the literary geniuses «Poets and writers who visited Vladikavkaz». Nearby is the composition «Ambassadors at the Empress», erected in honor of the accession of Ossetia to the Russian Empire.
Monuments dedicated to the modern tragic events of Ossetia — the inhabitants who died in the military conflict in 1992 and the victims of Beslan — have been added to the memorial.
Church of the Divine Mother of God
Church of the Divine Mother of Godfounded in 1815. Built on a high slope, which negatively affects its foundation. As a result of numerous reconstructions and fortifications, the church turned from a quadrangular shape into a cruciform one. In the 1930s, the church lost its bells, dome, frescoes, wall paintings and iconostases were completely destroyed. To prevent destruction in the church, work is constantly underway to preserve and strengthen the building.
The main shrine of the Temple is a copy of the Mozdok icon, created by the Georgian queen Tamara in the 11th-12th centuries. During the revolution of 1917, the original of the icon was lost, so the list is guarded with particular trepidation. Its height is 124 cm, width 102 cm. The image is sacredly revered for its miraculous deeds, which are attributed to the power of the Most Holy Theotokos.
Prospect Mir is the central street of the city. Beautiful, cozy, old avenue. Once upon a time, the shouts of cabbies were heard here and the townspeople were walking. Who just did not walk along this street — Pushkin, Lermontov, Bulgakov, famous artists, musicians, historical figures. Throughout the avenue, a pedestrian boulevard is laid, 1157 steps long. It is impossible not to admire the street, here each house is individual, there are no similar buildings. Beautiful balconies, spiers, turrets, original architectural details. Administrative buildings and high-rise buildings harmoniously fit into this ensemble. For citizens and tourists, this avenue is one of the favorite places for rest, which has retained its historical appearance.
German Churcha spectacular and unusual city building in the style of a Lutheran church. In 1930, worship services ceased and the building was transferred to the Union of Builders, and 10 years later the Philharmonic was opened. Many musicians and cultural figures were brought up here. In 2016, the Philharmonic became a branch of the famous Mariinsky Theatre.
The legend of the mysterious golden brick has been preserved among the people. They say that during the construction of the building a golden brick was laid for good luck, they were looking for it, but they were never found. It is probably still in this place.
Those killed in the attack found eternal rest at the Beslan memorial cemetery, which was called the «City of Angels».
226 people are buried here, of which 186 are innocent children. There is another most terrible grave — a mass grave, in which unidentified parts of the bodies are buried. Everyone has different years of birth, but the date of death is the same for everyone. There are figurines of angels everywhere.
On the territory of the cemetery there is a monument «Tree of Sorrow», a Poklonny Cross, a monument to special forces, a khachkar.
A year after the tragedy, a monument to the children of the victims of the terrorist attack in Beslan, the Tree of Sorrow, was opened at the Beslan memorial cemetery, the height of which is about 9 meters. It represents a tree, its trunk consists of four female figures, the crown is formed by their outstretched hands holding angels personifying children. The opening of the monument was attended by relatives and parents of the dead children, victims, as well as residents of Beslan and other regions of the republic.
Drive back to Nalchik
After a day full of emotions we set off for Nalchik.
|PRICE||1’000 rubles per person|
|DEPARTURE TIME||09:00 from city Nalchik|
|INCLUDED IN THE PRICE||
|BOOKING OF THE EXCURSION IS MADE AFTER FULL PAYMENT.
IF THE EXCURSION IS CANCELED BY YOU ONE DAY BEFORE DEPARTURE AND BECAUSE OF WEATHER THE MONEY IS NOT REFUNDED.
The program and time of the tour may change. Check with managers for details.
There are no reviews yet.
Leave a Review